People's rights are our mission and motivation

Our People

The Access to Justice Foundation is lucky to have talented and committed staff and trustees to deliver our mission and uphold the rights of everyone in our society, regardless of means and circumstances.

Staff Profiles

Ruth Daniel


Ruth Daniel is the Chief Executive Officer at the Access to Justice Foundation. Ruth is responsible for the overall strategic direction of the charity.

Clare Carter

Deputy CEO

Clare Carter is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Access to Justice Foundation. Clare is responsible for ensuring the sustainability of the Foundations charitable activities.

Greg Hodder

Head of Development

Greg Hodder is the Head of Development at the Access to Justice Foundation. Greg is responsible for fundraising and communications. 

Laura Cassidy

Development and Fundraising Manager

Laura Cassidy is the Fundraising and Development Manager at the Access to Justice Foundation. 

Laura is responsible for organising fundraising events such as the Legal Walks, the Great Legal Quiz and the Great Legal Bake.

Rebecca Wilkie

Litigant in Person Support Strategy

Rebecca Wilkie is the Programme Director for the Litigant in Person Support Strategy. She is responsible for overseeing and implementing the programme of partner activities within the strategy.

Martha de la Roche

Litigant in Person Network Manager

Martha leads the Litigant in Person Network as Network Development Manager, focusing on supporting the access to justice sector to work together more effectively, communicate more easily and work more strategically. She initiated the innovation workstream with a focus on data, design, tools and technology. A law graduate, she has previously worked in fundraising and business development across a number of access to justice organisations and has seven years’ experience in the sector.

Alice Bettis Marsh

Network and Development Officer

Alice Bettis Marsh is the Network and Development Officer. Alice is responsible for overseeing the Network and its membership and works as support within the Development team at the Access to Justice Foundation.

Our Trustees

Lord Goldsmith PC, QC,

Chairman of the Board (former HM Attorney General)

Lance Ashworth QC

(appointed by the Bar Council, former Chairman of the Midland Legal Support Trust)

Toby Brown

(appointed by the Board, former Officer of the Foundation)

Frances Edwards

(appointed by CILEx)

Nicola Sawford

(appointed by the Board, Treasurer)

Laurence Harris

(appointed by Law firms)

Jeffrey Forrest

(appointed by the Law Society, Law Society Council Member)

Steve Johnson

(appointed by the Advice Services Alliance, former Chairman of the Advice Services Alliance; CEO of Advice UK)

Dame Janet Smith DBE

appointed by the Lord Chief Justice, High Court Judge)